On General Conference, Lost, and South Georgia

Jay of the Methoblog has already geared up the site for General Conference blogging. There are a good many folks that will be live blogging GC and I think that this will be the first time we can really see what is happening from many perspectives almost instantly. (correct me if I’m wrong here, but we as Methodist bloggers definitely weren’t as connected in 00 and 04 as we are now). This has great implications for transparency–maybe not fully at this conference as the full effect of the instant-publishing blogging community may not be understood for an event like this.

While I regret that I will not get to take part in General Conference this year, I am serving as a district delegate for the South Georgia Annual Conference in June. I will definitely be live blogging our AC, for those who are interested. I’ve found that, even though we are in the geographic area that John and Charles Wesley landed and ministered, we don’t have a great deal of publicity! Well, hopefully I can help share what happens this year at the South Georgia Annual Conference and you all can share with me what happens at yours!

So…. This Wednesday, while many of you will be blogging away at the opening of General Conference in Texas, I will be reading my RSS feed and anxiously waiting for Lost to come back from its short hiatus.

2 responses to “On General Conference, Lost, and South Georgia

  1. I did live blogging from the General Convention of the Episcopal Church in 2006 and heard good comments from folks back home. I hadn’t done it in 2003, relying on emails to my church instead. But the blog angle connected many more people and was helpful.

    peace,
    Frank+
    The Rev. Frank Logue, Pastor
    King of Peace Episcopal Church
    http://www.kingofpeace.org

  2. I think it will be helpful. A transparent Conference runs differently, than a closed one.

    I don’t know that anyone will read about the South Georgia Annual Conference, but I’m excited to do blog it anyway. Maybe some one will take note and enjoy!

    Take care, Frank. Always good to see you around Greatest Story.

Leave a Reply

