Converting to Islam

A story for Georgia’s Augusta Chronicle looks at changing religions and denominations in the U.S.  Rev. Don Saliers of Emory University says that this is not uncommon due to American ecumenical contexts and social mobility.

I am most intrigued by the case studies describing shifts from Catholicism and Lutheranism to Islam and Fr. Steve’s (you can find him in my blogroll) shift from United Methodism to the Episcopal church.  (I will probably focus on this one in more detail later).

I am intrigued by what would cause one to convert to Islam from Christianity.  Sonja Ozturk seems to think that simplicity is a factor:

“It wasn’t anything extraordinary to try to deal with, like a Trinity-type scenario, or tenant. It seemed very straightforward and uncomplicated.”

Ultimately, Sonja converted to Islam.  Despite societal pressure, she says:

“I feel very satisfied and very at peace,” she said. “I feel like I do have a personal relationship with God, feel like I know my role in creation and I feel freedom from having surrendered.”

What does this provoke in you?  Theologically, what’s the bridge that makes these kinds of shifts easy for some?

(I am disappointed in the comments on the actual article.  To much “infadel” talk….)

h/t: Fr. Steve

Leave a Reply

