Teenagers and Christian Culture: have we gone to far?

There is an age gap in the church. So we are trying to fix it. One way to do that is to really reach out to teenagers and young adults. In a fast-paced, skeptical world, we often need to evaluate how we are presenting the Gospel and the church in order to reach these people.

In some areas, I’m afraid we’ve gone to far…way, way to far.

“Christian culture” breaks my heart. “Christian marketing” breaks my heart. “How-to-Christianity” breaks my heart.

The problems that I have with “mass-market Christianity” are:

1.  Many resources are “dumbed down.”  While this may make them accessible, they also lead to a misunderstanding of the depth of our faith and Scriptures.  They present a “that’s all there is” idea.

2.  It is hard to prevent the proliferation of false doctrine.

3.   The assumption that young people cannot engage in the full, mature life of the church and scriptures.

4.  How it leads the church into “passing the buck” to mass market Christian resources to make disciples.

5.  Mass market ideas create a “Christian culture” that we then need to combat.

I am convicted:

I’m afraid that I’ve passed the buck to others in making disciples.

I’m afraid that when presented with some teaching opportunities that I’ve just pointed people towards a resource instead of taking the time with them.

I’m afraid I’ve passed the buck. I’m afraid the Church has passed the buck. Christian culture is not always the best teacher. Christian culture does not do a good job of making disciples of Jesus Christ.

Christian culture can never take the place of the people of God “baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit and teaching them to obey everything I [Jesus] have commanded you.” (Matthew 28:19-20)

I repent. Will you join me?

Read more:

  1. Bibles for Youth
  2. Quiet time? Spiritual disciplines for youth (soon)
  3. Youth Ministries (soon)
One response to “Teenagers and Christian Culture: have we gone to far?

  1. Pingback: the word on the street. a bible for youth? « The Greatest Story Ever Told

Leave a Reply

