How long do you preach?

This is a repeat for you methobloggers, but for the rest of us:

Eric Kieb over at the Eclectic Soul asks:

How Long Do You Preach?

I get a lot at my current pastoral appointment that I preach “too long” with the implication being that a good message is about 12-15 minutes or so.

I normally preach about 20-30 minutes, which, in fairness to my little tribe, is a pretty different experience for them.

For those of you who are communicators out there, or are at least part of a faith community and have experience being subjected to the ramblings of your favorite preacher; how long do you/they preach?  I’d be interested to know.

And, by the way, just for giggles, name your denominational brand if you prefer to.

I have done 2 sermons and some other speaking engagements.  I tend to do 15-20 minutes.  My philosophy is that if you research, exegete, and then build your communication in a concise way, then you know the material well–similarly, if your material is concise then you have made solid decisions about every moment of your sermon.  We should avoid moments that are not thought out.

What about you?

4 responses to “How long do you preach?

  1. Episcopal sermons are to be about two things:

    1) About the Gospel
    2) About 10 minutes

    I regularly preach 12-15 minutes and so am a bit longwinded for an Episcopalian, but not by much. I find that I am not talented enough for three points and a prayer. The best I can handle is a one point sermon and so the amount of time is sufficient.

    When I go over 15 minutes I feel it. Not so much within the congregation as within myself. I know that I have provided more than they can hold on to and digest. So if I haven’t struck pil after 12 minutes or so, I quit boring.

  2. I preach about 15-20 minutes. Longer, sometimes. I don’t time my rehearsals now. 7-8 pages on 18 pt font for my manuscript is usually about 15-20 minutes.

  3. 25-30 minutes, usually – I try to stay within a 30 minute time frame…

    Kevin
    kevinwalkerblog.com

Leave a Reply

