alms for the poor?

November in My Soul, in a touching post, talks about a child-like desire to feed the hungry and house the homeless.

A man came to my house tonight in need of gas to get to Jacksonville because his family was in an accident–he is an acquaintance (I think) of my neighbor.  Partly because I think I believed him and partly because I had driven the church van home and it was in my front yard, I followed him to the gas station to fill up his tank.  When we started to fill up, he started talking about how hungry he was and how hungry his family probably was.  I asked him if it was okay that I just put gas in the car and let him get food on the way.  He got very upset and said “let me get going, okay, just let me get going–I mean it.”  He got in his car and drove away.

I don’t know, folks.  I just don’t know.

Leave a Reply

