at the close of day

“O Lord my God, I thank thee that thou hast brought this day to its close. I thank thee that thou didst give rest to body and soul. Thy hand has been over me, guarding me and preserving me.

Forgive my feeble faith and all the wrong I have done this day, and help me to forgive all who have wronged me.

Grant that I may sleep in peace beneath thy care, and defend me from the temptations of darkness. Into thy hands I commend my loved ones, I commend this household, I commend my body and soul. O God, thy holy name be praised. Amen”

–Dietrich Bonheoffer, Letters and Papers from Prison; United Methodist Hymnal, 689

Good night.

Leave a Reply

