Texts for Holy Saturday

From the daily office lectionary, here is a sample of the texts for today, Holy Saturday:

“The Lord is my light and my salvation–whom shall I fear?  The Lord is the stronghold of my life–of whom shall I be afraid?  When evil men advance against me to devour my flesh, when my enemies and my foes attack me, they will stumble and fall.  Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear; though war break out against me, even then will I be confident.”  Psalm 27:1-3

And where, O Lord, does this confidence come from?  Where is your stronghold?  With my enemies rallied against me, how shall I prevail?

Die to self, to live in grace, to resonate Christ.   Do not fight in a battle that is already won.  Clothe yourself in humilty and enter the stronghold of the Lord

“I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth.  And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see God; I myself will see him with my own eyes–I, and not another.”  Job 19:25-27a

When God gets under your skin, you must die to yourself in order to see God.  When God challenges your pride, shed your mortal self and gaze upon the redeemer.  Therein lies the beauty–to see Christ within your own self, with your own eyes, rather than rely solely on the testimony of another.

“Therefore, since the promise of entering his rest still stands, let us be careful that none of you be found to have fallen short of it.”  Hebrews 4:1

While the battle rages on, enter his rest–the stronghold of Christ.  To fall short of this promise is to die in battle.  However, to die to yourself and enter the rest is to rise again.

Leave a Reply

