Crucifixtion: a last minute decision?

The following is a question from a message board.  It is not my question and I want to give credit where credit is due, but I would like to respect the anonymity of the poster who asked this question on a closed board.

“This may sound very rudimentary, but I want to know what your opinions and beliefs are regarding this issue. It has come up recently in my pre-BOM interviews.

Did Jesus come to die on the cross or was it a decision made at the last minute? Let me provide you some background for this question and further explain it. There is a book entitled “The Will of God” by Leslie Weatherhead that was written some years ago. One of the main premises of this book is that Jesus did not come with the intention to die on the cross. He was not meant to be a sacrifice but instead came to show the people how to live and because of the rejection of the people, then God decided Jesus had to die on the cross. This opinion was recently held by one of my interviewers. She continued to ask me, “how many pints of blood did it take?” I am sure I’ve heard this question asked by some before but I never found much relevance, so I was not sure how to answer her. I do not hold this belief and attempted to articulate to the best of my ability my belief. She said I needed to open my eyes to the other views and be more open (in hopes I might change my mind).

What is your opinion? Did Jesus come to show us how to live as well as to be the ultimate sacrifice? If not, at what point was this decision made? What do we do with scripture in the Old Testament that we attribute to the prophecy of such an event? Are we doing a poor job of exegesis by seeing the cross in these scriptures? Or does this view that the cross wasn’t intended until the last minute one that holds little, if any, merit?

Lots of questions, I know…..but I’m interested to see if I really am in the minority on this one…”

—ANONYMOUS POSTER

What do you think?

One response to “Crucifixtion: a last minute decision?

  1. William John Young

    Note: The Lord Jesus Christ, the Eternal Son of God, God manifest in flesh, became a man for the purpose of going to the cross to die and make his soul an offering for sin. Just to quote one scripture that proves this was the purpose, Revelation chapter 13 and verse 8 states that, “And all that dwell upon the earth shall worship him, whose names are not written in the book of life of the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world.”

Leave a Reply

