Who is God?

I’ve noticed over the course of my Christianity that my view of who God is has changed. The most healthy of these times have occured when I’ve really sought the Lord through ministry, the Word, and prayer. Others have occured when I’ve tried to demote God in my day-to-day life. Those circumstances make sense. There is another set of circumstances that I have identified and I don’t know how to feel about them. Throughout my life, I’ve had a driving passion to know God. I am a sponge. BUT, my image of God has changed based on the views of others (local pastors, prominent figures, other Christians). Not that I’m moving from belief to belief, but I am seeing different glimpses of God. That’s intriguing. I don’t like it.

I have heard preached “who is God for you?” At first that was a wonderful question. Very liberal. Very unobtrusive. Now I see it is manslaughter. Negligence. Malpractice. God is not an incomplete work waiting for mankind to finish it. God is who he is. Complete.

Moses has been here, too:

11 But Moses said to God, “Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”

12 And God said, “I will be with you. And this will be the sign to you that it is I who have sent you: When you have brought the people out of Egypt, you [a] will worship God on this mountain.”

13 Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?”

14 God said to Moses, “I am who I am . [b] This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ ”

15 God also said to Moses, “Say to the Israelites, ‘The LORD, [c] the God of your fathers—the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac and the God of Jacob—has sent me to you.’ This is my name forever, the name by which I am to be remembered from generation to generation

–Exodus 3:11-15

God didn’t allow Moses to diminish him into the answer to a few questions. I don’t want to either.

I stand here now saying that I want to know who God is. I don’t want to know someone’s belief of who He is. I want to know who He is.

(For some interesting thoughts, visit Brian Russel’s blog.)

Leave a Reply

