A Call pt. 1

I just saw a movie with my brother.  It was good.  I saw an old student of mine.  I’m glad he’s still alive and not in jail.  That means that he has some kind of chance. He was sitting on the curb counting $100 bills with a friend.  He had either sold or was getting ready to buy something very expensive.   He’s lost.  At that moment, I was lost, too.  There was nothing that I could do to touch his soul.  Not a thing.  The fact that I am now a youth minister probably made it less probable that I could have a positive effect on him.  I’m having trouble sleeping tonight.

It is a time like this that my call is focused and clarified.  With nothing to do for this young man but place all of my hope on Jesus that one day he might come to Christ, how can I spend my time being trivial and not working 100% for the forwarding of God’s Kingdom–the church?

“I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me; I was found by those who did not seek me. To a nation that did not call on my name, I said, ‘Here am I, here am I.'”
Isaiah 65:1-3 

Leave a Reply

